Triathlon Two (and being attacked by a wetsuit)

The second triathlon of the season was the Buffalo Triathlon on Sunday, June 2. Sam competed in the olympic distance race and had another strong finish: 5th in his age group and 20th overall. He was pleased with his performance, and I was pleased that the race was conveniently located near a coffee shop, which gave me a warm and clean place to relax between transitions. For the sake of all spectators, I implore all race organizers to locate their races near coffee shops!

ChafingIn other news, Sam managed to come away from this triathlon with an interesting new injury: a chafed and bloody neck. I’ve included a photo of the now several days old injury. A photo of the fresh injury would not have been nice to look at, and I’m clearly trying to keep this classy. It turns out the neckline of Sam’s wetsuit has inexplicably begun to chafe his neck as he swims (this is the same wetsuit he wore all last season with no chafing issues).

Finally, since this blog was originally created to chronicle whether or not it is possible for a marriage to survive Ironman training, I wanted to mention that Sam and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary on Sunday. We spent the day hiking in Duluth. (I miss the days of long ago when we celebrated with fruity drinks and fattening meals rather than endurance exercise. Sigh.)  It was a great day.  Sam even rearranged his weekend training schedule so that he would ONLY have to complete a 7 mile run after our full day of hiking (as opposed to the 4 hour bike ride his coach had scheduled). I rode my comfort bike (imagine an old-school style bike with a basket and bell) alongside him and kept him company as he ran. In honor of our anniversary, I even kept the heckling to a minimum and only rang the bell at him a few times!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment