First Podium Finish of the Year

On Saturday, Sam and I travelled to New Auburn, Wisconsin to participate in the Chippewa 50K and 10K Trail Run.  Before anyone gets too excited: we ran the 10k route (it was actually closer to 7 miles but they call it a 10K because it supposedly sounds better)!

It was a beautiful day.  The weather was warm, the sun was shining and the trails were . . . well, they were still largely covered in snow!  Even with snow and mud covered trails, we had a blast. 

I am proud to announce that Sam placed second in his age group (third overall) and brought home his first medal of the season.  This is particularly impressive given that neither one of us had ever done a trail run before.  Heck, we hadn’t even ever practiced running on trails. 

In addition to being proud, I’m a little irritated.  Given his recent injuries, Sam should have run at a nice, slow pace and just enjoyed the day.  Instead, he headed out as fast as he could and possibly delayed his full recovery.  All he had to say for himself, as he wrapped ice around his ankle, was: “I tried to go slow.  I just couldn’t.”  Hmph.  To have such problems. 

Alas, I did not bring home a medal.  But I ran a great race (for me) and had a great time with my husband.  I may be a trail running convert.  I learned that when I’m forced to focus on the trail in order to avoid tripping and falling, I’m less focused on how much time has lapsed and how many miles of torture are ahead of me!  Plus, I do not have trail running shoes.  I like any activity that gives me an excuse to go shoe shopping.

The next event is a sprint distance triathlon on May 18.  Here’s to hoping that Sam is fully recovered!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment