3 Large Bags, 2 Nights, 1 Full SUV

Over the weekend, I learned that the sport of triathlon can even complicate a simple two-night trip to the family cabin.

For the first time in two summers we joined Sam’s parents at their cabin in Pine River, Minnesota for a long weekend. When every weekend is filled with races or long training sessions, planning a weekend away is difficult.

However, if planning is difficult, packing is nearly impossible. Sam decided that he would have to take his tri bike with him in order to complete Saturday’s planned 2-hour ride. He would also need all of his running gear for Sunday’s 13-mile run. I watched – bored out of my mind – as Sam agonized over how to fit all the gear, our overnight bags and his bike into the back of my small SUV.

Finally, after a lot of strategizing and at least a little swearing, the SUV was loaded and we were on our way. Approximately 30 minutes into our 3-hour drive, Sam looked at me and said, “S@#$, I forgot my helmet.” To which I replied, “Did you remember your bike shoes.” He responded: “S@#$. No.”

That’s right, Sam managed to forget approximately 2/3 of the gear he needed to ride his bike. Even after struggling to take the bike apart and get it into the car, it still didn’t occur to him to grab his helmet and shoes.

So, we turned around, drove back, grabbed the helmet and shoes and restarted our journey. Yes, I heckled him the entire way. It was necessary.

It rained and stormed all weekend. The bike never left the SUV.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 3 Large Bags, 2 Nights, 1 Full SUV

  1. Lauren Ketterer says:

    So incredibly entertaining and so very true. I’m a newlywed married to a marathoner who has begun training for his first half ironman and I’m pouring over your blog thinking “yup, that’s us…that’s definitely us!”

Leave a comment